HV and Red (Day 2331)

For a day off, it has been busy. I woke early as usual, and decided to get Sigyn out for her morning wander. Next up a trip to town to do the weekly shop - always best done just after 7 on a Saturday morning when there are only a few other shoppers getting in the way.
Home to unpack and have a quick breakfast before heading for Stromness with a load of water for the trough in Jeepers and Jasper's field. After dropping that off I checked on George and Red. They were both getting a bit too warm with their rugs on, and seemed much happier when I took them off.
Back home to do some more.household chores before lunch and a wander out on the hills above Lyde with Sigyn, then home await the arrival of my beautiful wife.
We zoomed off to Stromness together and had a good ride out on George and Red. The lack of wind meant the reservoir was like a mirror (extra). George was particularly pleased to find a discarded apple as we made our way back to the field, though he did struggle to eat it with his bit his mouth.
After sorting out Red and George at their field, we headed across to check on Jeeps and Jasper. On the way I noticed a calf caught up in a load of fencing wire. I got into the field to see if there was anything I could do, and found the wire to be 50 or 60 feet long and wrapped fairly tight around the calf's neck and feet and trailing along behind it. HV zoomed off to the farm we thought owned the cattle while I tried to prevent the tangle getting worse.
Eventually (after we had worked out who owned the cattle) the farmer arrived. I tried to help catch the calf, but it was impossible. A change of plan saw me and HV helping to herd all of the cattle along to a farm steading where we were able to get the calf in a pen and freed from the tangle.
I guess that is our good deed done for the day. Fish and chips at sunset on the pier in Stromness was a grand reward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.