It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

All out at Sea

What an amazingly fun day. Rosemary had arranged a kayaking trip for my birthday, which was last month. 

It meant an early start though, in which Izzy was picking us up in town at 8am. The trauma had come the day before because there was lots to pack and I genuinely get so stressed doing such a simple task.

We headed out to St Abb's Head car park to meet Scott and Judyta. Amazingly its a place I've never been to, and goodness me.....it was stunning. I had my big lens in case there were any sea birds, but most were all out at sea. The scenery was stunning though. We had a lovely walk and then headed to Eyemouth for lunch.

Would you believe, I've never been to Eyemouth either. It's not the easiest place to get to on public transport. Rosemary had expertly found a nice cafe (she has ability to locate places with cake). We were meeting Olly, a kayak instructor at 12:30.....I scuttled off (as I hate being late) to say everyone else was on their way shortly.

Whilst we have our own inflatable kayak & appropriate gear, handling a sea kayak is different. I kinda got the hang of it quickly, but hadn't adjusted my position well enough for our wee expedition. Regardless, I was having good fun. We headed off, back towards Coldingham. I heard a squack and Rosemary had capsized. She had over-edged her boat when playing. I couldn't really see what was going on and lost my confidence a bit, suddenly feeling very exposed. 

The paddle back was still fun, but the wind was quite gusty and I recognised that I had lots of learning to do. I got scared again when I thought we were paddling through wavey rocks that I didn't want to go through. It transpired that I didn't and felt much happier, especially when I was told that I was being followed by a seal. 

Scott and I decided we wanted to hit the beach, whilst the ladies got some further instruction. I had visions of me sliding up onto the beach and getting out dry. Scott was already there......but I picked a bad moment with some biggish waves. I tried to turn to avoid a rock and then was upside down having knocked Scott off his feet. Not too much fun in the breakers. But a few minutes afterwards, we were having a laugh about it. 

When everyone was back on the beach, we got changed and then headed for ice-cream 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.