Weather's on the change

Far more cloud around on this morning's walk. I was hoping to explore a different walking route this morning, so enquired at Galmpton village stores whether it was possible to walk to Stoke Gabriel & do a loop back around to Galmpton. No, apparently not, so plan B. The chap in front of me had just bought 2 pain au chocolat. What a good idea! So I purchased one along with the newspaper. Perhaps a walk down to Greenway quay, purchase a coffee, & sit by the estuary for a while but as we were nearing the Greenway estate the cloud came over, the view across to the moor looked unsettled so decided to cancel the pitstop & explore another route back, hoping to get down to the creek that I'd come across on a previous visit. The permissive path across the fields was padlocked, young bullocks in the field, so plan C, we  continued on part of the Galmpton village walk then backtracked to the bridlepath which the dogs love. Bella, the young Sprocker disappears into the hedgerow, then springs out onto the path, then disappears again, meanwhile Bess pesters me with a stick. Now I'm not always accurate when throwing forwards on the bridlepath which can be narrow in places, but have found that if I throw the stick backward between my legs it tends to be straight. Perhaps I should have tried that with darts, & 9 pin skittle. If only I'd known. We passed a few walkers, two in particular made me chuckle, an elderly couple walking towards myself & the mutts on the bridle path in the middle of the countryside, the lady ferreting in her bag to find her mask, which she had held across her face as we passed. A little extreme I thought. Hey ho!!
We had been out for 21/2 hrs. They are such fun to exercise, not interested in anyone or their animals, just want to play. Bess nearly got away with pinching the ball dropped by a wire haired pointer en route. Tut! Tut!
Back at base Bella needed a quick hose down, Bess was still clean. It was time to sample the delights of a pain au chocolat en plein air. I got the patio chair cushions out of the garden room, went into make coffee. Gave the girls a nice smelly tripe chew strip each, planning to join them outside, but the combination of the sun had disappearing, the wind springing up, plus the noise from the passing traffic made me rethink. I came back indoors.
Rang Mum at noon, she fine. We discussed Strictly, which she enjoyed, then watched the Global Citizen concert being televised live from around the world. I watched some of it here. Ed Sheeran was on stage in Paris playing in front of the Eiffel Tower,  then it flipped back to London & Duran Duran, at which point I switched off. Never was a fan.
I'm going to have a lazy afternoon, catching up with the first episode of The Great British Bake Off, which I missed earlier in the week. Countryfile on later which I also enjoy, and at some point rustling up a easy dinner.

Forgot to mention yesterday about my numerous attempts to open the washing machine at the end of a cycle. I knew there would be a challenge of sorts. My laundry was VERY VERY clean by the time I got the door open. Even Google & Youtube did'nt help me. It just opened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.