High Life

We went into Manchester this morning, which is these days a major expedition. Masks all round, which is our modus operandi these days.

Whilst J was being sorted, I went into the great outdoors. The hairdressers is very close to “Manchester Central” and the Midland Hotel, and the area was swarming with police and police vehicles. It was clear that preparations are fully in hand to institute the “Ring of Steel” which will enclose the Conservative Party conference which I assume opens next weekend.

I walked to Deansgate Square, which is nowhere near Deansgate but sits alongside the River Medlock. It is here that Manchester’s newest apartment blocks sit. My view on them has changed. I didn’t like them as I saw them emerge out of the ground. Aesthetically I now don’t mind them, I quite like the forms and the reflectivity. There is however a bigger issue of how the city centre provides housing for a broad range of people who can afford it. Too much is being driven by the “market” and what makes money (what is viable, in the lingo), not enough about provision for people’s needs (which will require subsidy in some form). . The two are not the same.

There are many apartments here. But how many for the those who desperately need a roof over their head.

Thanks to majoayee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.