Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Strawberry tree

My app says that these are the fruits of the strawberry tree, a new one on me. They should turn red I believe. It has been a busy day. I received a phone call in the morning from the Maire and deputy Maire who informed me that our church bells are not insured. This is despite us having been assured two years ago that, now that the bells form part of a building which the commune owns, the buildings insurance would cover them. It seems that neither the Maire nor deputy Maire have any idea of the decisions taken by their own liaison committee. The discussion became heated until I suggested we have another formal meeting at the Mairie. The painting group was pleasant until their annual general meeting, when Madame le Président and the Secretary almost came to blows and the President stormed out. It was up to me as treasurer to try to restore order. It is not the first time I have witnessed people flying off the handle in French meetings - not enough sang froid in their veins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.