pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Road tripping

In some ways I am glad to be back on the road. It breaks the week up, I get to meet some different people, listen to cool stuff whilst driving and yes, pretend that I am in a road trip movie.

However, the recent journeys I have undertaken have all been marred by problems on the M6, which was again closed today. I can only assume that everyone has a load of fuel in their tanks which they need to burn off to enable them refill again.

The important thing was that the meeting in Birmingham I left for early this morning went well (meeting with different people), I got to listen to cool stuff (Tim Key’s Late Night Poetry Programme) and also pretended I was in a road trip movie because I was in the car that friggin’ long.

The actual important thing is that I made it home in time to collect these two, throw some tea together and get The Youngest to Beavers (even though I forgot her coat and it rained on her – she was kind enough to remind me of this upon collection). 

Their reaction to seeing me in a suit for the first time in over 18 months was priceless – “Where have YOU been?” – and they were pleased with the Hamilton badges I got them. Long day, but finished strong.

I did miss my lunchtime walk though…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.