A Hobo's Meditation

Will there be any freight trains in heaven?
Any boxcars in which we might hide?
Will there be any tough cops or brakemen?
Will they tell us that we cannot ride?

With our sad family news, it has been a rough week and a half, and I have been seeking out the healing balms of Nature even more so than usual. All of the state park beaches we know of are closed now. So my husband and I went over to Bald Eagle Creek. He took an actual swim, in the deepest part of the creek, while I waded but did not get totally soaked. The water wasn't as cold as that of Whipple Dam.

A railroad runs along the road by the wetlands, and as we were pulling out, I noticed this huge praying mantis crossing the tracks. I was fascinated enough that I stopped for a few photos. It is my opinion that the mantis was hoping to hitch a ride, and see all of America's countryside by train! Safe travels, my friend!

The soundtrack song is this one: Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, and Linda Ronstadt, with Hobo's Meditation, from the excellent album Trio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.