Day of the Dead Musings

My husband and I had errands in town which apparently did NOT include cashing the IRS refund check we got in the mail a few days ago . . . because somehow we forgot it and left it at home; you know, where it'll be SAFE, of course. But hey, we have other reasons to go back, so no biggie.

We had a wonderful lunch at Olive Garden, my husband's treat. It was an early celebration of our wedding anniversary, which is coming up in mid-October, a time of year when we are often out playing in the leaves and are not available for town things.

I had time for a little retail therapy at our local T.J. Maxx store, and I took my camera along in with me because I get recreational shopping so seldom. When I do, it's worth documenting. T.J. Maxx has lots of seasonal decor, and it was fun to photograph.

This unique item celebrates the Mexican holiday the Day of the Dead, or Día de los Muertos. It's a holiday typically celebrated on November 1 (or 1 and 2), where families remember and honor and tell funny stories about their loved ones who have passed beyond the veil.

It is like a great big family reunion, as it is believed that the souls of our dead loved ones return to visit the living on that day. That is a happy thought for me, as there are quite a few people I have loved who have gone before us now.

I don't need to name all of their names here, for I've been telling their stories on these pages, and I will keep telling them because I can't stop. But I wouldn't mind a chance to catch up and say:
 
Hello, best beloved, how are things?
We miss you so; we still can't believe you are gone.
We hope you are well and happy on the other side.

I carry you in my heart, wrapped in all the love I possess.
I tell your stories, in which you are beautiful, and a hero.
You may be gone; yet you are still here with me.

My song: REO Speedwagon, Here With Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.