A Huge Day!

Please forgive me for being self-indulgent but today is an important day for me.  Many of my fellow blippers know that I suffer with chronic migraine.  About two years ago the first ever class of migraine prevention drugs were developed specifically for migraine.  In the past, drugs developed for other conditions have been used to treat migraines...I think I've tried most of them.  This is the first-ever targeted drug.  It has taken all this time for me to finally access one of these drugs (Ajovy) and today I had my first of three injections on the NHS.  If there is improvement then I will be able to continue using it.  Approval of the drug by NICE, and then the budgeting by our local NHS Commissioning Group was delayed by Covid.  I was prescribed it in June but then my prescription went missing but after all these delays, today was the day when I had my first injection.  The nurse who was meant to visit me at home for my injection training couldn't come because of the fuel shortages but she did an excellent job using FaceTime and under her supervision I successfully used the 'injector pen'.  Now I just hope the drug helps me, it won't cure my migraines but should reduce the frequency of attacks which would greatly increase my quality of life.

What has the photo to do with the above?  Well...nothing at all.  I washed the glass beads holding up a dried flower arrangement earlier and here they are drying on my draining board in the sun.  I figured you would rather see this then anything medical!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.