Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

New Town chic - but is it art?

I was admiring the fuchsia in this doorway on Dublin Street when I realised that the colour in the planters was down to crushed beercans. At least they were colour coordinated - do you think they were there deliberately?
A later start this morning, it's amazing how easy it is to put off getting up! This afternoon we went to see the Alison Watt exhibition at the Portrait Gallery, her work is just stunning. See extra. Perhaps having had an art experience I was looking for artistic examples and that's why I spotted my blip. We had a very nice bowl of soup in the Gallery cafe which was very spacious and not at all crowded. I felt very safe sitting beneath the portrait of Ian Rankin which I was intrigued to see had been donated by Alexander McCall Smith. They were near neighbours in Merchiston for a while.
We have bridge this evening, so I'm blipping early, today is the first day that I won't have seen baby Josie since she arrived in Thursday.
I've to go to a couple of out of town meetings this week, but the car has plenty of petrol thank goodness, I think some of the local garages have run low, apparently diesel is a particular problem. Oh well I'm sure it will be sorted out soon. I was pleased to see that a local garden centre was taking bookings for Santa's Grotto so that's all right. Reindeer don't need petrol.
Am I naive in thinking that as E10 petrol has been further diluted, with ethanol, it should now cost less?
Keep safe everyone, numbers are still dropping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.