TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~WordBook Epilogue~

~Dictionary Project Afterthoughts~

Now that the Dictionary Project is over for me I feel that I should put down a few of my conclusions regarding the last two weeks.
First and foremost I really learned a lot about me and my creative side. Some days I was very concerned about how in the world I was going to come up with a photograph that translated, effectively, the word I had picked for that day. Some of those words took me all day long to come up with an idea. I did, however, find out that this thinking part was what I enjoyed the most. The mental gymnastics of the creative process. In the end I believe that most of the images I constructed worked. Though I did twist the word meaning a little bit I still held true to the concept of the project.
The next discovery was that I can now photograph almost anything. Before this exercise I felt I was kind of limited in my subject matter. You know sunsets, cactus, landscapes and the like. My confidence has grown as a direct result of having to shoot a variety subjects in different situations.
I have also done things in Photoshop over the last two weeks that I have up to now only dreamed about doing. By studying or trial and error I actually know how to do them now. I know now that almost anything is possible in that program. That my imagination is my only limitation. And that is very cool.
And last, but not least, gosh am I ever glad I'm through with that assignment. Those fourteen days were more like thirty. Now don't get me wrong! I would do it again in a heart beat now that I know how much my creativity, resourcefulness, imagination and knowledge have all been diversified and increased.
Do I want to do it again? Maybe in a day or two!

Thanks for all the wonderful comments and support I have received during the Dictionary Project. That is what made it all worthwhile.
To those who proceeded me, Polaroid, Banana, and Imp, thanks for showing me the way.
And to those who will follow me, I hope I made it a little easier.
Good luck Hebs, Elec-glass, Squirk, Study/Scarlet, Pocho and Auntyval.
If you are interested in doing the Project there is a Dictionary Thread
in the Forums/Blipfoto Chat.

Thanks and goodnight!


This is a photograph of a cactus' flower that I have in a large pot in my backyard. This is the first bloom of the season. Actually, it has ten of these flowers all showing at the same time. They only blossom at night and only last one night. Tomorrow they will have withered, but I did capture their singular beauty this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.