No

2021 I learned the magic of the word, "no."

A contractor wanted to install a wall with plastic pipes that would put water into my yard. 

No.

In thirty minutes they had a new solution that didn't involve any pipes. 

Today they wanted to commandeer 16 inches of the back of our yard. They were having to dig too far. They would have to work with the utility company. 

No.

Is there room for compromise?

No. 

But then you'll have to have a wood retaining wall.

GREAT!

Magically, I think within 30 minutes, they came up with a way to install their brick wall without commandeering part of our property.  

What else can I say no to? 

Seriously, they were building the wall 16 inches into our property. It isn't like we have a lot of space. 20x20 feet. 16 inches is noticeable. 

And they LIED IN MY NEIGHBOR'S FACE about it. 

She deserves something for not punching him. Being an adult sucks. As an adult you are just expected to behave. You restrain from hitting someone and you get no gold star and no cookie. I used no curse words, only "bloody," which isn't a curse word here. Again, no gold star, no cookie, no pat on the back. Nothing. 

You have to buy your own cookie!

I did realize that, once the wall is built, I can plant something tall and permanent in front of it since the wall will be permanent. Unfortunately, lilac trees and the Shirazz Japanese Maple require sun. Now, as cool as the Shirazz Japanese Maple would be, even if I had sun, eventually it would take over the entire yard, since it is supposed to grow 15 feet tall and 15 out. 

Actually, I got one of my neighbors to plant one, so I can watch it as it grows. 

In the meantime, I wonder what tall thing I can plant against the retaining wall that will be ok with shade. Hey, Kate? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.