Kirkjufell

This picture is a classic. Everyone takes exactly this picture in exactly this spot. If you’re good, you go when the lighting is phenomenal or you go when you can get aurora borealis but you simply must get this shot. 

Today the rain saturated the colors. The moss was a different color, the red plant (heath?) that I love was multiple shades of red, the yellow from the trees popped. 

We drove the Snaefellsnes peninsula and now are in the town of Borgarnes. This is the first time we’ve been in a town. While driving it we darted off at Ytri Tunga, the beach, where seals were promised. I’ll post a picture of the “seals” we found. I am confused about why they were there when there was a nice giant grassy lawn to eat instead but who am I to question others choices?

Another standard shot to get is of the black church Búðakirkja. With the sky I decided B&W was the way to go. I was going all around trying to take a minimalist, stark photo when some knucklehead was imitating a sheep. Baa! Baa! After the third time I wished he’d stop, it wasn’t funny. Finally I looked around and it was an actually sheep trying dearly to get my attention. 

Kate and I are absolutely loving sharing the trip with you. 

Marlieske, thank you for holding Derelict Sunday. We think of you and the challenge every time we see one. 

(Hi Dan!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.