Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Arachnid Cammo

This morning we saw a group of Lazuli Buntings flitting around from post to rock to plant. They were either courting or nest building--hard to tell which. They are stunning little birds-- almost an irridescent bright blue. They seemed to be feeding off the ground--grass seeds?--I had never seen one before and was so transfixed by them that I almost forgot to try to take their pictures. I needn't have bothered--I got a picture of the ground, a nice one of three empty posts and an empty cow pasture, and another of the sky.

I have no problem with spiders--even big ones, as long as they aren't in my house busily draping it with webs. There's nothing worse than walking through a spider web and then trying to get it off of your face. This one was outside, almost hidden in a crack in the tarmac. The most appealing thing about hum was that he held still! When I looked at the picture on the computer, I loved the up close up effect of the tarmac which looks like an ordinary black tar road from a standing position.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.