Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Exmoor ponies

It's been a pretty lovely day and I had a fab walk this morning!

It no longer surprises me how often these days you find little pods of Exmoor ponies put to graze on non-agricultural land.  Unless it's the same five being circulated around the district.  And what a wonderfully welcome sight they are.  As Britain's nearest thing to wild horses, their only job is to keep the herbage under control so it's suitable for wildflowers and helps wildlife generally to thrive.  (The flies are certainly doing well out of the deal)

On my way out I walked through part of the reserve.  That is less lovely right now.  There's a lot of drug taking there and in the park and it looks like there are also one or two people living rough where they shouldn't.  Add that to runners with anger management problems and I've found I'm going there much less often.  However, today I determined to reverse that decision.  I'm missing the deer ;)

Right, that's enough blather from me.  Have a lovely Wednesday evening/Thursday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.