Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hey Ho

The titmice kids that arrived so late this summer seem to have made themselves at home in our woods and are now seen every day visiting the feeders and doing important Tufted Titmouse things.  This little guy has grown in his dark spot over the bill but seems to be growing a whole new set of tail feathers as they are all short and stumpy at the moment.  They have been practicing a whole wide range of calls and songs which is actually a bit distracting, but still very cute.  I can't resist them.

I misplaced that darned Chinese Mantid again.  After polishing off her bee meal yesterday afternoon, she disappeared.  I've scoured the butterfly bushes looking for her but no luck.  Ditto the goldenrod.  How can an insect that's nearly 4 inches long juts disappear???  I know she's out there somewhere...

While searching for the missing mantis, I found a Brown-hooded Owlet Moth caterpillar happily munching away on the goldenrod.  He's about 2 inches long and just beautiful (you can see him by clicking HERE).  And since it was pretty chilly outside, the paper wasps were all moving slowly which allowed me to get some up-close and personal shots like this one.  A fun day in the garden.  

And last night, three more monarchs emerged.  I'd brought the container inside since the temps were going to dip into the 40's last night.  Once it warmed up a bit, I took the container outside and put the butterflies in a nice sunny place so they could fly when they were ready.  Two males and one female and I decided to let them fly in memory of all those who have perished of Covid 19.  Three more ready to go and then just one more left that I collected from the garden after it had pupated.  

Going to have another square of the dark with raspberry today.  

Thanks for stopping by!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.