Focus Stack Test - Auto vs Manual

(*Nerd alert)  
madwill mentioned autofocus stack recently. His post inspired me to investigate whether my camera has that capability. It does! I have been manually focus-stacking up until yesterday.
I shot the photo on the left using the autofocus stack in the camera. The photo on the right is a manual focus stack.
The photos both have the same camera and lighting settings. Both are PS merges of 20 individual shots. I set up an action in PS and processed both identically. 
The photo on the left (autofocus stack) has much more detail than the manual focus stack on the right. You can see the zipper on the bag that the decoration is sitting on, and you can see the rough spots on the foam core board backdrop.
When I set the focus stack settings in the camera, I found an option to set a time between shots. That allowed me to use my strobe. Yay for auto focus-stack with a strobe!!

I forgot to mention that my grandson's COVID test finally came back (negative) on Monday morning, and he was able to go to school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.