Marionb

By Marionb

Autumn Reflected.....

My next-to-last day at the cottage...how should I spend it? Tomorrow will be cleaning and packing up, so if  just I wanted to putter about, this was the day - my last chance to capture some cottage images for my 2021 photo book. 

My favourite image of the day was the reflection in the main blip..the birch trees and autumn colours of the far shore mirrored in the rippling water by the marsh. A little autumn abstract. 

One thing for which I can thank Blipfoto, is the daily photo with commentary. It has forced me to look much more carefully at this tiny little island for photo-ops and in doing that I have become so much more aware of the little changes that each day brings here .. a sunrise today is very different than yesterday's..the clouds paint a different sky several times a day, the angle of the sun will highlight something I wouldn't even notice at another time of day...and I notice small things more now..like tiny little flowers or toadstools I would have carelessly stepped on before, and of course, I am always on the alert for birds, butterflies, ducks, and frogs but now also insects? That's new. 

I feel that I am leaving the island this season with a much more intimate knowledge of what goes on here.... like what grows on the "forest" floor, where water will puddle on the rocks after a rain..where the best reflections will be on a still morning,  when the colour of the sunrise will be at its peak and what mornings to expect mist on the water...

So, today I went puttering about in search of images that would tell the tale of today on a little island in Georgian Bay..not just the big landscape scenes, the birds or the animals, but the little things...like those in the extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.