Marionb

By Marionb

Sweater Weather....

...but today, I could actually take it off...briefly...It was a lovely calm day with sunshine..still chilly, but if you found a protected place in the sun, it was warm enough to take off a sweater...so I did...

Not much happened today - which can be a good thing - but also not much to talk about. No "theme for the day"  - no frogs, no ducks, loons or herons...no fiery sunrise...not even that spider I didn't blip a few days ago...if he had returned, he might have made it to the blip posting! 

So, I guess the theme could be about the sweater? Not much to say there either except it is a lovely sweater I bought many many years ago ...(If you are a knitter and interested, it is hand-knit - but not by me, but by a lovely lady on Grand Manan, New Brunswick where I spend time every year visiting friends. It is made with yarn from Briggs and Little - also from NB..and those birds, of course, are puffins..and is a great souvenir of the island.)

I love the sweater, but have seldom worn it. As I got older my lifestyle, especially in winter, did not cry out for a heavy wool sweater. I didn't go out in blizzards much, and sitting indoors by the fire with a novel did not warrant such an item either..a light shawl would work just fine...My days being at the cottage in late autumn didn't happen as often once I started going to Europe more - the fall is a great time for those overseas trips..and such a sweater was not really necessary there and of course, even if it would have been handy to have, there was no room in the suitcase for it anyway!...So when I was weeding out clothing a couple of year ago, I ALMOST donated it to the Salvation Army!  But I didn't. Whew!..because then along came COVID and now that I am back spending my time at the cottage in the fall, I am SO glad I kept it..that sweater has got a lot of use here  -  it is SO warm and cosy!

OOPS...it seems I found a lot  - perhaps too much - to say about an old sweater....Oh well...at least to the relief of some...it wasn't a spider blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.