Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

When flood lights were like palm trees

A group of about 50 of us had filed out from our meeting area, silently and white-faced, after the February 22 2011 12.51 earthquake, to stand outside quietly holding each other, talking, numb, shaking and shocked.

Then the next aftershock struck. Something made me look up, and there were the flood lights of the AMI Stadium, waving around like palm trees in a strong wind. I remember thinking "Oooooo - I can't look at that" and looked away.

The memory has never gone away though and today I thought I'd try to re-create it with my camera. I hope it gives you an idea of what I saw. Having looked at this image on the computer I can see how I could have captured it differently, but - I've done it now. That's it. Flood lights masquerading as palm trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.