Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Silly galah

'Silly galah' is an Australian derogatory term which means something like  a 'loud-mouthed idiot'.  I've always loved galahs and think it regrettable that they are associated with the sort of people I might be tempted to think of as a 'silly galahs'.
 
We encountered this fine specimen in a dry creek bed on the remote outback road to the Painted Desert in South Australia. The extra shows the road.
 
The galah is in about the middle of the pack of the 28 remaining birds in the Australian Bird of the Year competition. There are 13 birds with lower scores.
 
The top scores so far today are
 
Gang Gang  1,618
Fairywren  1,486
Tawny Frogmouth  1,451
Magpie   1,197
Kookaburra  1,006.
 
I am very sorry to report that, despite my best efforts, I suspect the Lyrebird will drop out of the competition tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.