Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Maned Forest Lizard

Identification - Bronchocela jubata.

More rain during the night, but safari conditions under foot were much better than the last few days, also a lot more bugs to work with. I actually would have been spoilt for choice until the fly landed on the lizards head. I had actually finished the lizard's photo session, but just had to break out the monopod again for this shot.

Since last posting this creature, I have discovered that I had incorrectly identified it, confusing it with a close relation, the green crested lizard.

I found yesterday's spider again and was able to get a closer look. I collected more images for ID purposes but was unable to get a good blip shot. It was indeed a new species for my collection; Nephila antipodiana - Batik Golden Web Spider, an accidental addition to the unblipped series too.

I am surprised that I did not see this spider last year, but I still have one nephila from last year that I have not identified and it might well be this one. The problem is that their appearance changes as they grow. I am still learning, but this year I know what to look for.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.