Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

Dinner Prep

JPork fillet tomorrow night. I decided that we should unearth the Sous Vide wand and precook the meat today. It should have been easy but...

First of all, I had to find the instructions for the vacuum bagging machine as it has been so long since I had used it that I wasn't sure which button was which.

The filing heap upstairs in the office is a disaster area but we did finally find the handbook. I bagged up the meat with some of the garlic and rosemary flavoured oil that I had made in the summer.

Then I realised that I have a new phone and hadn't yet installed the Anova app. I took care of that but pairing the Anova wand with our WiFi router really took it out of me... it's a wonder that I have any hair left. No kidding, I had to lug the wand upstairs to the router (which lives on top of the hot water cylinder in the bedroom) dripping water all the way.

Eventually I had the meat on to cook. 1 hour at 54°C should have left it nicely pink and juicy but tomorrow will be the proof of the pudding.

I'm aiming for an Italian vibe, but without the pasta... just big white plates, and an expanse of nothingness;-)

Backblips are over there <<<<< somewhere, a small clutch of them covering the period since we arrived home.

Oh, whilst we are talking food, DH had a go at booking El Celler de Can Roca last night. Booking opened at midnight. By 00.02 hrs he had a table for Sep 7th 2022. By 00.03 hrs there were no tables left for the whole of that month. The boy done good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.