In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'Happy Holi Everyone'

Or Festival of colours as celebrated by the Hindu religion.

Today Dylan's class was lucky enough to celebrate Holi and I was lucky to be able to take the afternoon off work to go and photograph the event. The actual day is the 27th March, but as the weather forecast was saying late showers tomorrow, so Dylan's teacher Michael decided to move their celebration a day earlier so we had nice weather. He had the Indian music playing while the kids all ran around in the pine forest covering each other with the powders.

I was supposed to be staying clear of the powder action with the camera and all, but the kids decided that I needed some colour too and proceeded to swamp me with colour. What an awesome experience to have at school. These are the days where I know that sending our kids to an independant international school is paying off.

The kids all had to dress in white for the celebration which involves throwing , smudging rubbing 5 different very vibrant coloured powders all over each other. Got some brilliant shots today which I'll copy to a DVD to give to Michael. I think he's going to put together a little movie of the afternoon.

This shot is of Soren, one of Dylan's best mates at school, loved the expression in his eyes. Way too many shots to choose from today, might have to upload some to my 500px page.

It was a real privilege for me to be a part of the action today, thanks to Michael and all of the wonderful kids at the Plenty Valley Montessori School in Cycle 2.

More shots from today here if you're interested :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.