JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 274: Evening Silhouettes

It was mostly a miserably wet day, but by late afternoon, when I trotted to the post box with the card J made for her cousin's birthday, the rain had just stopped, the trees were dripping, and there was sudden warmth in a brief patch of sun between the clouds. It reminded me of the lovely title and credit sequences of the Tales of Beatrix Potter series shown on the BBC when J was young - probably in the mid-90s - with the rain sending Beatrix, her painting and the animals scurrying for home, and then the sun's return as she finishes her illustrated letter to a young friend and goes out to post it. 

A little later I went outside to bring in another cauliflower and some chard for dinner. I hadn't planned any photography beyond the photos of J's card I took earlier, but the intense golden hour light on the autumn colours of the ploughed fields across the valley sent me running back for a camera, and as I turned round trees were sharply silhouetted against rose-tinged evening blue and I knew the bottom of the lane opposite was the place to frame them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.