Blue Notes

I love Blue flowers! The Blueness of these Plumbago flowers  is so strikingly beautiful this time of the year. This particular plant is blooming wildly in our back yard. I think that I'd call this color is a light Cornflower Blue, although don't hold me to that. My knowledge of the Color Spectrum, to be kind, is somewhat lacking. Wikipedia describes Cornflower Blue as ' a shade of medium-to-light blue containing relative little green compared to to blue.' It was a favorite color of the Dutch Painter Johannes Vermeer. And interestingly, the most valuable blue sapphires are called Cornflower Blue but are darker in tone than these flowers (more violet-blue).
Hope that you are having a nice weekend. The weather here in NC FL is still rather warm, an expected high of 88 F this afternoon with humidity in the low 90%s. The mosquitoes aren't too bad, if you stay in the sun. Otherwise, watch out 'cause they are large and hungry! Yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.