Mel's Orange Marmalade

Today's the day ...................... for an imposter

There were a few reasons why I ordered this particular dahlia tuber a few years ago.  For a start, I love the name probably because I love marmalade - and I was wanting an orange-coloured variety to fit in with other plants.  I have a daughter-in-law whose name is Melanie, so I rather liked that too.

But when it eventually flowered, I think you would agree that it's a long way from being even remotely anything like orange marmalade in colour?  By then, of course, I'd forgotten where I'd bought it - and it was after all a very nice fimbriata dahlia even if it was a bit of an imposter.  So it remains in the garden to this day.  

Sometimes I do wonder if it might be a completely new variety, unknown to the horticultural world and I might have discovered a little money-making gem.  Stranger things have happened ........................!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.