bananablip

By bananablip

New places, old friends

Covid took away the joy of a hotel buffet breakfast but today we got to enjoy one once again. Rejoice!

A quick walk through Covent Garden en route to the EXCEL centre to register for the marathon. Even though we were face masked, I saw a friend who I haven’t seen since 2007 when we travelled to South Africa as part of a team! So much fun to catch up. She’s here supporting a friend tomorrow. After queueing for a million years (kudos to the epic London Marathon staff though) and getting starstruck when Martin Yelling walked past me (niche) it was time to get to the velodrome!

The second activity of the day was spectating as my brother had a go at cycling in the Olympic velodrome. Totally cool! Can’t imagine how epic that place must have been during the olympics.

A good soaking on the way back, a long hot soak at the hotel and then a total and utter carb fest with the family.

I know that I will weep from beginning to end tomorrow, but I AM SO EXCITED TO BE RUNNING THE LONDON MARATHON! Now the small matter of trying to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.