Marathon bore

As fulfilling lifetime ambitions go, today was pretty epic. Most years on London Marathon Sunday I sit on the sofa and watch the coverage with tears running down my face, enter the ballot as soon as it opens, then disappointingly get the ‘no’ email. This year I got to run it and it was well worth the wait.

I reached my £1,000 target just before breakfast which started the day off on an emotional note. Onto the packed tubes down to Greenwich with runners all clutching our bananas from our hotel breakfasts (side note: breakfast buffets are BACK! Today’s Marathon was fuelled almost entirely by hash browns). And then it was time to go!

Like most runners, I always go off too hard at the start but I was determined to take it easy and enjoy every moment and that seemed to work. A steady pace meant I could smile and enjoy soaking in the atmosphere. Having family planning to watch at miles 7, 15, 19 and 26 plus the Compassion Cheer Squad at 22 meant that I never had to run too far without seeing and hearing familiar faces and support. And it’s true what they say about the crowds, they really are amazing! I thought I’d cry through the whole day but I managed to smile the whole way through until the final mile where I just lost it. The crowds plus the tiredness plus the enormity of the event really does just get to you.

I finished in 4.47. A personal best but the time didn’t matter one single bit. I ran the London Marathon in the sunshine and had the time of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.