wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Freshers

So I love this photo for lots of reasons! It's 6.30pm and the newly arrived freshers are making their way to the college bar for their first welcome event. Uni life seems to be returning to normal AT LAST!!! There's still some parent cars around dropping off boxes and suitcases! It's drizzly...typical Lancaster weather! We came onto campus to see A's room, which was exciting in itself, but also quietly transported me back in time, to 2 years ago when our daughter was moving into the same college...but also to circa 28 years ago when I was in the same college and a block with exactly the same layout and the same outlook as this photo! (I can't remember which block it was exactly...if it was this same one or slightly further along. I was the first year to enjoy the newly built Pendle college after my year abroad! )
A was nervous but excited and all her flatmates seemed lovely.
Our daughter is now in 3rd year so we helped her move back into her town house earlier on in the day, did some food shopping and also went out for lunch at the fabulous Whale Tail veggie restaurant. The city was bustling with uni students and life which was so refreshing. After Covid, nothing is taken for granted!

I love this because it's my 1,000th blip too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.