Bond, James Bond, & Paraphanalia!

Went to see 'No Time to Die' last night with my friend, who I ride with in the RBL Riders Branch, and he's also a fuel tanker driver so need to keep in with him! HAHAHAHAHAHA
The film was brilliant, as were the previous 24 (apart from the 'Carry on Spying' type in the Roger Moore era!).
Without giving anything away, in case you haven't seen it, I do wonder where the Bond films are going to go now. When you see it you'll know why I'm wondering this. We do know that in No Time.to.Die he has retired and the new 007 is a black female, it all works out well though after the CIA get him to go back to work and save the world.
The photo is my 2012 50th anniversary collection of 22 Bond DVD's, with an extra place for the 23rd which was about to be released (Skyfall). I added SPECTRE later and will also add No Time to Die when the DVD comes out.
I saw the first Bond film, Dr No, in Newcastle in October 1962, aged nearly 14.

The other photo, the Paraphanalia part, is part of the assortment I needed to fix the garden lights. They are switched on while I work so I can see if my bodging and soldering actually work. They are low voltage, you can see the type of bulb being used.
We have 10 of these around the garden, 4 of them didn't work. They have been in the garden for the past 25 years and so the little screws, holding the junction box together for each individual light, were so rusted it was impossible to unscrew them, they just fell apart as soon as the screwdriver looked at them.
I had to break them open, solder where they wires had come apart through age and deteriation of the original solder joints. Plus some of the spikes, that go through the wire to make a connection, were corroded so I had to strip away the insulation, cut the wire, rejoin with solder and then solder back to the spike. Just occurred to me I didn't need to connect back to the spike, I should have just cut the spike off and soldered the wire directly to the wire that is on the spike! I will do that when I have to redo them in another 25 years!
The plastic spikes, that go into the ground, were also broken due to dogs, cats and children running around the garden and knocking them over. I used thinner tubes & spikes, from defunct solar lights, to go inside the original tubes, worked a treat :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.