RegardsFromEdin

By RegardsFromEdin

Gorgie Road Utility Box

I passed this 'urban art' on my jaunt out today.   I'm not sure if it's connected to the work of the Gorgie Collective arts and cultural community group or if it's a bit of independent local guerrilla art.  

I read an interesting article about the painting of utility boxes where it was described as a "global trend over the last decade".  The article claimed City Councils often hired artists to paint these to beautify a neighbourhood, convert eye sores into works of art etc.  But the article argued that the "trend has less to do with beautifcation than it does with cities wanting to take control of street art, to make it sanctioned, palatable, institutional and toothless".  Certainly made me think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.