Scoping

I was invited to check out a spare room in an apartment that a friend who runs a consultancy uses as his office. It’s well located, close to the relaxing view over Maputo Bay, and would be an excellent choice if I could confirm. I can’t have an official office elsewhere in Maputo at the moment as we’re finalising our NGO status, and I’m on a visa with a host partner. Too many questions if inspected.

With all of these complexities, the sensible thing is to cut ties from my current employer and role, and switch to something with fewer frustrations and baggage. Which, happily, I’m on the cusp of doing. The job interview I had earlier in the month has resulted in an offer, which I’m now clarifying and negotiating. However I can’t be very open about the upcoming changes as I’m the sole representative here and need to plow ahead on plans with project collaborators. I also don’t know what to say to the owner of today’s office space as his partner is the lawyer acting for us to complete the NGO registration, on which I’ll be the named representative (until I announce my resignation).

It’s all a little ‘busy’ in the head department, although clarity is in sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.