Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

I don't believe it!

Just a foto from an old abandonned home a little further on in town.

But the other day when I met my SIL(ex-SIL yes) we shared our newses and so and she told me some stories that triggered us laughing loud and also saying " it's sad too" 

We got to talk of her brother (my ex-BIL) and I told her I'd visited him at his grave what is decorated with a vivid foto of him. And then she asked me where, on what grave this foto is; well on his where he's burried together with auntie Johanna and uncle Kostas. "Oh if only they knew they have Spyros next to them in their grave!"  
And we remembered auntie and her nephew shouting at one another in their last years; so I asked me SIL if they'd be fighting one another there in their grave, rather than having found peace there... The gravestone may soon be lifted from that fight :-) etc, we went on with our fantasy.

And from her brother Spyros she continued on her cousin Spyros, who'se lost his wife two years ago suddenly (both just 80 yrs of age and due to a fall she died). His wife didn't want a Greek burrial; she wanted to be cremated.
That's not possible in Greece (and actually not accepted, because of the power the Greek Orthodox church has here still). So Anastasia's corpse was taken to Bulgaria for cremation, indeed all in silence done, as that's forbidden from here. And after her ashes had been taken home in urns and there they waited the moment when her widower and children wanted to scatter her ashes onto the sea... that never was realised, as burglars had robbed the house of various items, amongst which the urns with her ashes! (the urns did look posh to the burglars, unknown items here they are). Ofcourse her widower was upset and in tears over this theft... the idea that his wife was "kidnapped"  by others and that her urns were considered treasures, made us laugh ~  such crazy stories can only be found here! 

Like yesterday when I put up the curtains in Sweetheart's cottage in the village... how on earth could I rail the curtains on the curtain rod from just one side, when the rod rests in the middle on a hand?! Or my MIL using her new stove for the first time: the glass door of the oven she'd left opened when cooking first time in there and her full family was watching that cooking from curiosity... how could a glass door endure that heat?! On purpose they'd left it open, coz they couldn't believe it could be closed and not break from the heat... ofcourse the foods never got done and they disapproved of their new purchase :-) 
Talk with the shopkeeper, learned them that all's fine with the glass door... I tell you, crazy stories!

When my ex came to visit us ages ago in Holland, he'd taken along a cake his mum had made for our children. It were lots of cubes of cake that she'd topped with broken nuts (almonds and walnuts)... The love she's put into these cubes with her topping! When my ex had put all his things in his suitcase, it was overweighted and he'd taken out his mum's cake and told her to take off the nuts-topping as that was causing his overweight! She did scratch off that nuts topping piece by piece! I couldn't believe his word initially, but they were most seriously true! and that we could see from the marks MIL"s knife had made and the scrumbs of nuts we found..
Anyway the absurd order to his mum (my MIL) made me laugh (and angry!) he could have taken something else from his trunk to match the weight and for sure both could have eaten a few pieces of her cake for his (our) children and all was solved. Crazy stories from Crete and I could tell more !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.