Visitors

A couple of robins kept me company as I planted bulbs today. Here is one of them, standing proud on the wall next to our fruit bushes.

On Facebook this morning I spotted that one of my school friends arrived in Edinburgh last night for a couple of days in the city. She and her 90 year-old mother have driven up from Cornwall/the Cotswolds for a holiday in the far north. They will be swapping their car for a hired camper van in Perth on Wednesday.

I have only seen Andrea a couple of times in the past thirty years or so, but whenever we get together we always have fun. As soon as I saw her Facebook post, I suggested that the tourists might like to include us in their Edinburgh itinerary.

I stopped gardening at 3:30pom to come indoors to make scones for Andrea's arrival at 4:30pm. We could have talked long into the evening, but Andrea and her mother had a dinner reservation at 7:30pm. In the end, Andrea stayed until 6:15pm, then I walked her back up to the road to her hotel (the Balmoral, no less). I had a quick word with her mother, who had forgone the tea and scones for a rest, and for the zillionth time in my life was told that I haven't changed. It's sad to think that I have looked middle aged since childhood

Back home again, Mr hazelh and I had supper then settled down to watch the end of a film that we started last night. Midsommar is rather gory and very strange, but beautifully filmed.

Exercise today: gardening and walking 10,102 steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.