Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)

'The falling leaves drift by my window
The falling leaves of red and gold
I see your lips the summer kisses
The sunburned hands I used to hold
Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I'll hear old winter's song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall'
Autumn Leaves is one of the first tunes that people play when starting to learn how to play jazz. It is deceptively difficult and seemingly simple. I am just revisiting it to try to improve my understanding and playing of it. There are many versions from Eva Cassidy to Miles Davis, offering many and varied interpretations. The opportunity to explore why music can move us in so many different ways.
This hoarse chestnut tree is already changing colour, losing it leaves and scattering its conkers. The blue skies lasted until lunchtime after a chilly start. Early afternoon the skies darkened and heavy, steady rain is here.
The decorators are making good progress in the large garden room and will finish it tomorrow morning, which will be a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.