My place of birth

This is Oban, where I was born and from where my family hails. Although I was little when we moved away it was the holiday destination of my childhood up till about 17. In extras you can see Ganavan beach where I made many a sandcastle and paddled (there were no houses there then!) and also the view along the esplanade you would get if you sat on the family memorial bench. 
Rob and I have visited several times in the past thirty years but not for about ten years. The biggest change was the traffic. It seemed very busy and noisy compared to our memory of it. Lots of nice cafes now, a greater range of restaurants and a choice of 4 supermarkets so there are changes for the positive too. We walked the streets where my Dad working in the PO, my Aunt in the telephone exchange and my other Aunt and Uncle had a sub post office (where my sister and brother and good family friend Mana all had Saturday jobs). We also walked past the house where  my family lived and my Mum did B&B in one bedroom. My brother always told me that Mum had to do B&B so she could afford to buy me from the baby shop :-))
If any blippers are local to Oban we had an excellent meal in the Olive Garden, the best beef Ragu I have ever eaten with about half a cow in it. Rob then took a super shot of the town at night, see here. Do have a look against the black background for sharpness if you have the time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.