Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday: 18th Century Inventions

I might be a bit controversial here.  The Mono Monday theme is 18th Century inventions.  Everyone knows that James Watt invented the steam engine in 1776.  But did he?  What about Thomas Newcomen and his atmospheric engine in 1712?  At least it’s still 18th Century so it fits the bill.  But here’s the controversial bit; I put to you Thomas Savery and his steam pump patented in 1698.  OK, it’s not technically an engine, it’s a pump, but that’s 17th century so would put it outside the scope of the challenge.  And what about Denis Papin in 1690?  Don’t even go there.

I could have taken the easy way out and walked the five minutes across the road to the station where I could have got a picture of a real live steam railway engine but instead here is my version of it; my ‘Mamod’ steam engine rigged up on a rudimentary three wheeler Meccano car, all built by my own fair hand.  It hasn’t turned a piston in earnest for around 50 years so there’s no way I’m risking firing it up now, but I do remember having lots of fun with it as a kid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.