Green lacewing eggs

These tiny eggs, about one mm long, are attached by fine filaments of about one cm, in this case to the clothes line. I had no idea what they'd hatch into and after some research I discovered that they are the eggs of the green lacewing.

After a few days the eggs hatch into larvae which look like miniature crocodiles. With their large fierce jaws they feed on garden pests including aphids, leafhoppers and mites. Pupation takes place in a cocoon, from which emerges the beautiful green lacewing.

That was a lot to learn in one morning, from one photo. I will peg out the washing with care and keep my eye out for the the larva, cocoon and adult stages. With any luck I'll be able to blip them, so watch this space.

Thanks for hosting JDO. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.