Standing tall

Meeting by Zoom began at 0830 (after an hour of reading notes and answering emails) and the last one finished at 1600. A quick change and I went down to run around the waters edge and up over Highfield Reserve to come down Fidelis Ave back to the beach house. On the way, I caught sight of a number of small waders on rocks that would soon be slightly below the surface of the water. 

When I was out, I wondered if the one I have shown in my blip might by a large sand plover, as it appeared taller and bigger than the Tuturiwhatu (NZ dotterel). When later I looked in my book of New Zealand birds, I very quickly saw that it was not. So I flirted briefly with thinking it was a Pacific Golden Plover. No such luck.

Nevertheless, it is a good portrait of a Tuturiwhatu.

We have had lots of birds visiting for food on the seed table. Dominating in numbers and aggression are the Greenfinches. Sparrows have started coming. Occasional chaffinches and one or twoGoldfinches. Then the spotted doves came, and even blackbirds. No Tui. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.