Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sowbread

I've been wanting for weeks to blip one of these for TinyTuesday.  They seem to be flowering all over the place round here - this one came from a clump at the bottom of my front steps, but there's a great flood of them on the banks of the Nuns Stream.  Their length from mouth to petal-end is less than that of my thumbnail.  As for looks, a touch of raspberry ripple icecream?  I think they're absolute perfection!

But 'Sowbread?' I hear you object, 'these are cyclamen'.  Well yes, they are, a subspecies of wild cyclamen or cyclamen purpurascens, but their name is actually cyclamen hederifolium. or 'sowbread'.  Why?  I have no idea.  Do you think pigs like digging them up and eating the corms?

Now for some serious thanks.  Firstly for your wonderfully kind comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's, thank you.  And secondly many thanks to JDO for hosting today's TinyTuesday.

Have a great evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.