Truligarth

A beautiful sunny and calm day, warm too.  There was a shower late morning, but soon cleared.  Lovely calm night too.

Another day off, and headed out walkies after breakfast.  Met up with mam and Laura, and we headed out west on a family history research tour.  They came back to ours for lunch.  Back working in the Checkoot today, and a long shift, 2pm to 10pm.  Settled into the airport job, and feel I can help out again.  More walkies with Sammy, and then feet up for the night. 

I need to get going with the family history research again.  After visiting the standing stone yesterday, I discovered a family link close by, about half a mile away.  Going down my granny Margaret side, my 4x great granny Barbara Irvine was born here at Truligarth, about 1785.  She was the third bairn of seven to my 5x great grandparents Magnus Irvine (b. 1748) and Sophia Fraser (b.1752).  She married my 4x great granddad James Moncrieff 10 Feb 1814, and had their first born at Unifirth.  My 3x great granddad George Moncrieff was born here also at Truligarth, 19 May 1816, and had three more bairns.  By 1841 census, they were living at Unifirth, where my granny Margaret later lived.  Unsure when she died, she didn't appear on the 1851 census, but her father, Magnus, died here at Truligarth 1813.  Not sure if they would have had much time to enjoy their beautiful view, over the hills and towards Foula on the left.  Taken at Truligarth, Mid Waas (Walls). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.