OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Old bottle

I got off the bus at Brig o' Waithe and headed south along the west shore of the bay past Congesquoy, Skatelan Skerry and Bu of Cairston. The most noticeable birds were the red-breasted mergansers- around fifty-five, which I think is the most I've seen here. Across the narrows, by Cummi Howe were about thirteen common seals hauled out relaxing on the rocks, with ten grey herons standing by like waiters at some London gentlemen's club.
After making coffee, I made my way along the Bay of Navershaw and approached Stromness. The low tide allowed me to cross to two little islands in Hamnavoe- Inner and Outer Holm. There is a house on Inner Home and I met the resident as she parked her car before making her way across the shallows.It is a noisy spot now as they are building a new dock for the renewables sector. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.