OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Grey Heron

I cycled over to the little community woodland at Muddiesdale to listen and watch for songbirds. While sitting on a bench I noticed a dog-walker photo something by the burn with his phone and wondered what it was. He came past where I sat and said that there was a heron that might be injured and (he knows me a bit) seeing as how I was a birdwatcher maybe I should have a look. I walked round and found it skulking about, and took this shot. It didn't look hurt, but herons here wouldn't normally let someone approach. He did walk off a bit, looking huffy. I went off to volunteer at the library and phoned the SSPCA ( who do animal rescue here). They phoned back as the officer wasn't familiar with the area, so I cycled back over and met her. The heron was still there and as the officer approached it took off! But it actually was injured- it really just sprang up and glided off a little. I could see that the right wing was a bit mussed up. We decided not to give chase, the officer was not put out at the bird being mobile and said she would return later in the day or tomorrow to have another look. The bird may have sustained a slight injury and will recover. There are no foxes here, they're too big for cats to attack and as long as it stays clear of loose dogs I think it will be ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.