You don't have to be rich to have pots . . . .

What a day! Bucketing down! A Scottish Water report from two days ago said "Some parts of Scotland need double the "normal" amount of autumn rainfall to return water reservoir levels to what they should be at this time of year. Well I think we've had double the usual today!

I went to a friend's garden to discuss various things she could do to make her garden more exciting. I felt I had to get out after a morning of 'office work', and the rain did ease off for a while, but the heavens opened as I set off after lunch and I came home soaked to the underwear! Roads flooded, cloud down to the ground. Lovely!

Bit of an emergency Blip today. I certainly wasn't going outside again after a complete change of clothing! In the absence of a proper propagating set-up I find Yeo Valley yoghurt tubs quite handy for smaller items - they take a 3 inch plastic pot. A while ago I obtained seed of a hardy perennial by the name of Ruellia humilis, a native of eastern and central USA with lavender flowers. The only other plant of the genus I've grown is Ruellia portellae, a beautiful glasshouse plant from Brazil well worth growing as a house or glasshouse plant. I think I must get it again! I should probably have waited until the spring to sow this one, but I didn't! Here are the seedlings, courtesy of Yeo Valley!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.