5 years…

…ago

my world was rocked

when i got a phone call

no one wants to gets - my oldest niece - told me her mama - my only sister - had died unexpectedly - i thought she had - to be mistaken - but as the days - wore on, it was obvious - that wasn’t the case

as a christ follower - my grief is two-fold - i am both sad - as well as happy - i know intellectually - my sister is in a better place - dancing with the angels - around abba’s throne - no longer in pain - her earthly body - no longer troubling her - and for that i rejoice - and i rejoice knowing - i will one day join her

but i also deeply grieve - as anyone else would - because i miss - my best friend - a confident soul who - knew me - stood by me - rooted for me - all the time - 5 years has gone - quickly and i should probably - be further along in - my journey of grief - by now but we were - so close it’s difficult - to close the door - it’s gotten easier - less painful as this scripture says

weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. psalm 30:5 (kjv)

my joy is returning - as i think - of her and i continue - to help her daughters - my precious nieces - they are my light and pride - and together we are - making sure it is…

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.