6 years…

…ago

you left us

in an untimely death

i remember it like - it was yesterday - and maybe just - because we’re sisters - and were so blasted - close, so similar in - so many ways - there were even times - we’d finish each - other’s sentences; so in some - ways it feels like - only days have passed - not so many years

it’s true that saying - about the years softening - your grief because i feel - as though my level - of grief isn’t as raw - as it used to be - oh sure, there continue to be - times i still reach - for the phone to call - or text which sounds silly - as i say it now - yet it happens if - i’m honest or i think - to myself how i - need to tell her - thus and such then - catch myself remembering she’s gone - having to fight back - the onslaught of tears - but the rub isn’t - as harsh as it used to be - on my soul - i am not as - devastated by these occurrences - as i once was - it doesn’t mean i don’t - still miss her just - that i am coping better - i can breathe through - it all now and - i have turned the - corner on learning to - live without her

one of the biggest helps - with that has been - the presence of her - daughters, my nieces - in my life - they are, without a doubt - a source of hope and joy - for me and together - we have chartered our lives - without my sister, their mama - in support of one another - placing one foot in front - of the other holding - firm to our faith - in a loving, kind - and compassionate abba - who has shielded us - and guided us to…

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.