Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Junk I love

It was raining today and I really wanted to get out of the house to move around (or I would have sat all day reading a book..The Summer Seekers about an 80 year old woman who decides to take a road trip with a young lady driving a Ford Mustang...it is a good story!).   Anyway, I told Jerry I was going to West Columbia to the antique mall there which I haven't visited in two years.   He said he would go and we would get lunch after I had my meander through the shop.  (I just rolled my eyes as I know who much he likes looking at old stuff in a crowded store!)

So the first words out of his mouth when we went in the door was " I have never seen so much junk in one place!"   Glad the clerks did not hear him!    He asked me what I was looking for and of course I said "I will know when I see it."

A few seconds later I saw the tiny jar with honeycomb look...a honey jar unlike any I had ever seen before.  $2.95...in my hand it went.   Then I found the ink jar...$2 and the slim bottle..Old Reliable Eye Water, manufactured by John R Dickey Drug Company, Bristol, Tennessee. $3.95 I like finding bottles with manufacturers.   Then as we were about to go to the check out desk I saw a shelf of tiny vases and pitchers...tiny with most being about two inches in height.   I happened to pick up the one in the photo as it looked like a hand crafted jug...$3.95...and it was signed on the bottom...Marietta, 1945.   I don't know if it was that old or the maker in a pottery class signed it with her birth year.   Anyway, it went in my hand also.     I was under my budget which was good. I love when that happens!   

Then we walked to the restaurant near the shop hoping that we could eat before the rain came back.  We did but it poured rain as I was driving home.

I don't think the man will go back to the antique shops with me.   He looked kind of startled and bug eyed when I told him we did not have to go upstairs to see the remainder of the store.   His reply was.."You mean there is more junk upstairs!"    Bless his heart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.