NatureQueen123

By TheLoveOfNature

Busiest Ever!!

I haven’t stopped! I’ve been so busy. Last Thursday, I received an email about my gardening course that I’ve been doing at Colby. Unfortunately they are scrapping the course and I have to submit as many Modules as possible by the 3rd of November!! That’s hardly anytime. I hadn’t even fully completed 1 module yet.

On the Friday, I wen to Colby after doing a garden to see my main Mentor, who is also the Head Gardener. Unfortunately I missed him. He’d been there, but had to leave to sort out his new phone. So, when I got home, I emailed him, attaching the email I’d been sent and asked if he’d be in on Monday afternoon to talk about it. Luckily he would be,

Over the weekend, I continued to work on my photography course. I finished typing up all of the Assessment Criteria questions on Saturday and on Sunday I went out to take photos for Street Photography and Event Photography. 

For the Event Photography, I’d found an Apple Pressing Day at Carew Castle, so I went there. The Rangers were  happy for me to take photos. Whilst I was there, I tried to get some Portrait Photography shots, but it was too windy and I was trying to use my tripod to get photos of myself. I’ll either try again or ask someone to be my photo subject.

Then I drove to Tenby to get some photos of the streets. You had to get 3-5 shots that showed the story of the town using Street Photography. I tried to capture the fact that Tenby is a Seaside town built within the Castle remains.

I was happy with what I’d got and now just need a few more then it’ll be complete and ready to send off :)

Monday comes. I had 2 gardens to do. Managed to finish the first one without getting wet. Not so lucky with the second! I got soaked! I did have my full waterproofs on, but the rain was so heavy. I think I might need a new coat. I only did an hour because what I was doing wasn’t working anyway and I just wanted to get to Colby. The lady was away on holiday, but she’ll understand when I explain about my crazy deadline.

Finally got to see my Mentor. He’s really annoyed, as am I. He said we’ll complete as much as we can and that any time I’m free, I can be at Colby. The current volunteer Covid restrictions don’t apply to me!

I got started right away! I actually started on a new Module which I knew I could complete by myself. My Mentor started filling in the paperwork, so 2 Modules were fully completed. I just needed to make a planner and then they were done.

The one I was doing, I had to give visitors a guided tour of Colby, teaching them about its history etc. I’d already given a tour to 2 of my friends. One is actually my old boss and the other was my colleague. I asked them if they’d write and sign witness statements for me. They were delighted to help and did them straight away. Thanks to them, I was able to complete that Module in one day! :-D

Seeing as I’d finished it, I started on another one. I didn’t need any help, apart from with the spelling of a certain Tree disease. My gardening friend helped me out with that one :) Unfortunately when I messaged him to ask, it was when Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp were all down, so he didn’t get my message until the next morning, but once I had the spelling, I was able to complete that section. So I did that before going to Colby that morning.

On Tuesday I was supposed to be doing a garden, but we cancelled because it was too wet underfoot.. I would have been doing more damage than good. Off to Colby I went instead.

I gathered evidence that I needed for the Module relating to Tree Diseases and discussed how to complete my Plant Care Module with the Walled Gardener because we put her name down to be my Mentor for that one. I’m with her next Tuesday, so we’re going to do all the practical stuff then. I’ve already written up the Assessment Criteria points, so by the end of Tuesday, that one will be complete! :)

On Wednesday, volunteers were finally allowed back to the monthly meetings. We discussed various things. At the end of each meeting, we go round to everyone to see if they’ve got anything to say. I got to me and the Head Gardener explained to everyone there what’s going on and asked them all to help me in anyway possible :) My friend who was supposed to be my Mentor for one topic said she’d have a look at what we need to do and see if it’s doable in the time we have. She says it is, so we’ve got a date in the diary when we are both free and can complete it together in a day!

I walked down to a Amroth with another friend for coffee and then worked on my coursework in the afternoon. I wasn’t getting a lot done because there were so many distractions. I went off strimming because there’s a certain area that I need to measure up, so I can do a to scale plan and design that area for my coursework.

I got it done and asked my Mum to come in some to help me measure it up. 

Yesterday I was supposed to be doing Plant ID, but that particular Mentor couldn’t come in. Hopefully we’ll be able to do it on Monday after I’ve done the garden I need to do.

We did however decide that I can do the Basic Grass Module and we went and bought some fertiliser for one section of that Module. We also ordered a pH testing kit, so that I can complete the Soil Analysis Module.

With everyone’s help, it looks like I’ll be able to submit at least 13 out of the 20 Modules. Although I won’t have completed the Passport (It’s called the Heritage Skills Passport), I will get recognition for the Modules I have completed.

I’ve spent every hour possible doing my Passport this week. It’s taken over my life! My evenings are spent writing away too. One night, I was thinking about the planner I had to create and how I would do it. I was wide awake at 3am trying to work it out because my brain wouldn’t switch off.

Today, I have rearranged another garden, but still have one to do this afternoon. This morning, I’ll finish writing up one answer for my Plant Care Module and then it’s ready for me to just to the actual pruning that’s required for my evidence. Once I’ve done that, I’ll start working on a new Module.

On the plus side, Buster is here again. Bless him, he was only gone for 5 days before my brother had to leave for work again and Buster had to come and stay. He’s as good as gold. We’ve taught him “Hugs”. When we say it, he’ll come and give us hugs, or not in my case haha. I say it and most of the time, I get a look or he’ll come running over, stare at me and run off again. Sometimes he will jump up and give me hugs. When my Mum says it, he gives her hugs every time! We clearly know who the favourite is hahaha

This is probably the longest Blip I’ve ever written!! Might not do another entry for awhile, I’ll be drowning in coursework! To top it off, not only is this deadline for the 3rd of November, but my photography one is the 22nd of November! 

I haven’t been able to do the new gardens I’ve taken on. Luckily they’re on the Colby estate and through the National Trust, so I can explain why I haven’t done anything or completely ignored them. I’m sure the Cottages Manager will understand. I haven’t explained to her yet why I’ve given up all of my free time. I will see if I can maybe fit one in on a Saturday or something towards the end of October, but I just what to get as much of my Passport work done as I can first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.