Oxymoron

Blackberry gin liqueur.  Blackberries, cinnamon, sugar, gin. Mix, wait six weeks, decant.

I had a break in my meetings so decided now was the time. The Quality Control dept approve.

A full on Friday admin day sorting out interviews for my replacement PM next week and meeting my two new line reports. We run a matrix management structure where some of my direct reports don't (always) work for me but may work on other tech projects and programmes. It sounds complicated, and it sometimes is, but it seems to work. I got two new people this week as their old line manager got promoted. One of them has just moved to Cornwall; I guess he won't be in the office much then. Although that in itself may prompt some conversation as unless he wants to contractually become a homeworker he may be expected in more than he thinks in the new year. 

Both 'children' are out tonight; No. 2 had to go to her office in MK and I think is meeting her b/f in town on the way home, No.1 is working a late shift and going back to her mum's after. There has been a bit of an issue going on since some silly behaviour earlier in the week so she's taken herself off for a few days. Her Dad and I are in agreement about the incident and the outcome which makes it much easier. Normally I leave it up to him but this one was on my watch and was a case of 'this house these rules'.  Anyway, the house is empty so Himself and I are going out for wine and pizza . There's an oxymoron in there somewhere.

Have good Fridays all. It's been a long week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.